Code Metrics in a Slick Package

One of the nice things about being late to the party is that, by the time you get there, things are in full swing.

I’ve recently been diving headfirst into .NET development while, as I’ve mentioned, reading a few new books. One of those books is Code Leader. I’m about a third of the way into the book, reading it in conjunction with Clean Code, and I’m really enjoying the practical information with regard to running a software development outfit.

Currently I’m reading about continuous integration, which has always been an interesting topic for me. I do quite a bit of automated UI testing with TestComplete from AutomatedQA, but I’ve done no real work with unit testing or code coverage analysis or code metrics at build time (though I do use CodeRush for metrics while writing code).

Two of the tools mentioned in Code Leader are FxCop and NDepend. FxCop left me uninspired, but NDepend is very nice. It analyzes your codebase (or any codebase) and gives you all sorts of very nice overviews and details with regard to numerous metrics. What I like a lot is that, in the report, you can click on the metrics to get very nice descriptions of what the metrics mean to your project and code.

Plus the program looks great. I’m kind of a stickler when it comes to my tools, and I like them to look nice. NDepend definitely does not offend the eyes, using DevExpress’s very nice control-set to emulate an Office look and feel.

Leave a Reply

